anden.at

Discover the Andes

Excursion guide Movies Photos Presentations

Stratovolcanoes

by Martin Mergili

General information

When an oceanic plate of the Earth's crust steeply dives beneath another - oceanic or continental - plate, melting of some parts of the upper mantle is often the consequence. The resulting magma rises and, when reaching the Earth surface, appars as lava or pyroclastic material in a more or less explosive way. The molten rock is usually quite viscous, whereas different types of vocanic material can form slopes within a broad range of inclination angles. This si the principle of the formation of stratovolcanoes. Through the subduction of the Nazca Plate beneath the South America Plate along almost the entire Andes, stratovolanos are very common here. Many of them are extinct or dormant, whereas others erupt from time to time, challenging the society to cope with the consequences in the most appropriate way.

Click into the title image to visit a number of traovolcanoes in the Andes. Do you know the one or the other of them? But be careful: two of the photos are not from the Ades, and one of them even does not show a stratovolcano. Track down the cuckoo's eggs!

Show solution

Mt. Ngauruhoe is a classic example of a stratovolcano - but it is located on New Zealand's North Island. The Mauna Loa on Hawaii Big Island represents a nice example of a shield volcano.

Layers and more layers

As Eva-Maria shows us ere on the example of the Villarrica volcano in Southern Chile, stratovolcanoes have got their name from the sequence of layers (or strata) of different origin, colour, thickness, and resistance against weathering and erosion. In contrast to shield vocanoes, which are usually dominated by solidified lava flows, pyroclastic deposits are more common on the slopes of stratovolcanoes, as it can be seen in this photograph.

Visit the contribution on the Cordillera de la Sal to see another nice example of pyroclastic deposits. In the following exercise, you can drive a small part of the story of a stratovolcano by yourself and learn more about the origin of individual layers.

Exercise

A short episode from the history of a volcano

This stratovolcano can already tell you a long story. Over time, eruptions of different types led to the deposition of one layer after the other - partly of lava, ánd partly of pyroclastic material. Just right now, the magma chamber beneath the volcano fills up again with andesitic magma: this type of magma is quite common in the Andes and has an intermediate content of silica, and intermediate viscosity.

Click into the magma chamber to activate the volcano.

1 of 15
References and links

anden.at

Entdecke die Anden

Exkursionsführer Videos Fotos Präsentationen

Schichtvulkane

von Martin Mergili

Allgemeine Infos

Wenn eine ozeanische Krustenplatte steil unter eine andere - ozeanische oder kontinentale - Platte abtaucht, kommt es häufig zum Aufschmelzen von Bereichen des oberen Erdmantels. Das dadurch entstehende Magma steigt auf und tritt in Form von Lava oder vulkanischem Lockermaterial mehr oder weniger explosiv zu Tage. Die Gesteinsschmelze ist meist recht zähflüssig, weshalb die unterschiedlichen Schichten steile Hänge bilden können. So entstehen Schichtvulkane, auch Stratovulkane genannt. Durch das Abtauchen der Nazca-Platte unter die Südamerikanische Platte entlang fast der gesamten Anden sind Schichtvulkane hier sehr häufig. Viele von ihnen sind erloschen oder ruhend, während sich andere immer wieder bemerkbar machen und die Gesellschaft vor Herausforderungen stellen.

Durch Klicken in das Titelbild kannst du verschiedene Schichtvulkane in den Anden besuchen. Kennst du den einen oder anderen davon? Aber Vorsicht: zwei der Fotos stammen nicht aus den Anden, und eines davon zeigt überhaupt keinen Schichtvulkan. Komm den Kuckuckseiern auf die Spur!

Auflösung zeigen

Der Mt. Ngauruhoe ist ein klassischer Schichtvulkan, liegt jedoch auf der Nordinsel Neuseelands. Der Mauna Loa auf Hawaii ist ein schönes Beispiel eines Schildvulkans.

Schichten und noch mehr Schichten

Wie uns Eva-Maria hier am Beispiel des Vulkans Villarrica im Süden von Chile zeigt, haben Schichtvulkane ihren Namen der Abfolge von Schichten verschiedener Entstehung, Farbe, Mächtigkeit und Resistenz gegen Verwitterung zu verdanken. Im Gegensatz zu Schildvulkanen dominieren oft - wie auch im gezeigten Beispiel - Ablagerungen vulkanischen Lockermaterials gegenüber verfestigten Lavaströmen.

Ein weiteres schönes Beispiel vulkanischer Ablagerungen findest du im Beitrag zur Cordillera de la Sal.

Im folgenden Übungsbeispiel kannst du einen kleinen Teil der Geschichte eines Stratovulkans miterleben und so mehr über die Entstehung einzelner Schichten erfahren.

Übungsaufgabe

Eine kurze Episode aus der Geschichte eines Vulkans

Dieser Stratovulkan könnte bereits eine lange Geschichte zu erzählen. Im Laufe der Zeit wurde durch verschiedenartige Eruptionen eine Schicht nach der anderen abgelagert - bestehend teils aus Lava, teils aus vulkanischem Lockermaterial. Gerade jetzt füllt sich die Magmakammer unter dem Vulkan wieder mit andesitischem Magma: dieses ist im Bereich der Anden besonders häufig und hat einen mittleren Gehalt an Siliziumdioxid und eine mittlere Flieβfähigkeit.

Klicke in die Magmakammer um den Vulkan zu aktivieren.

1 von 15
Referenzen und Links