anden.at

Discover the Andes

Excursion guide Movies Photos Presentations

A historic journey on the roads of the Inca

by Thomas Lindinger and Simon Schmidthaler

General information

In the 15th Century, the Inca reigned a kingdom which was by no means inferior to the Roman Empire. It extended over 4000 km along the west coast of South America, and supported a population of more than 12 million people. The term Inca (which means ruler or lord) did not have an alphabet, so that we know relatively little about their early history. The Inca Empire gained its enormous extent through spectacular conquering expeditions, and due to the fact that tribes which were enemies with each other doid not jointly defend themseves against the Inca. The subdued tribes were forced to take over the lifestyle of their new rulers, and were instructed by teacher on the construction of stores, irrigation channels, and housing, as well as in improved agricultural techniques.

A huge empire had to be reigned. For this purpose, the Inca used a perfectly designed and maintained road system. It extended all the way from today's Ecuador to Chile and connected Inca settlements over mountains and plateaus, and through valleys. When the wind blows along these old roads like a panpipe, one could almost think that, with a bit of phantasy, one could see an old Inca passing by, with sandals, a loincloth made of cotton, and with colourful threads of wool in his hair.

Let us walk along these old Inca roads together with Pachacutec, a ficticious Inca warrior, and build a bridge from the pre-Columbian period (the time before the so-called discovery of America by Christopher Columbus in 1492) with modern times. With Pachacutec on our side, we learn a lot about this ancient South American civilization. Pachacutec travels from the citadel of Machu Picchu through Cusco, the capital of the Inca, and Arequipa to today's Chile. He shows us a viewpoint near to the fortress Pucará de Quitor. The we accompany him to Santiago de Chile, Portillo, and finally to Mendoza on today's territory of Argentina.

References and links

Métraux, A. (2001): Reich der Inka. Stuttgart

Wood, T. (1996): Die Inkas. Erlangen

Wikipedia article on the Inca Empire [Access source]

This contribution was slightly revised and extended, and translated from German, by Martin Mergili.

anden.at

Entdecke die Anden

Exkursionsführer Videos Fotos Präsentationen

Eine historische Reiseroute auf den Straβen der Inka

von Thomas Lindinger und Simon Schmidthaler

Allgemeine Infos

Die Inka regierten im 15. Jahrhundert ein Reich, das dem Römischen Reich in nichts nachstand. Es erstreckte sich über 4000 km entlang der südamerikanischen Westküste und ernährte mehr als 12 Millionen Menschen. Der Begriff Inka (der Herr bedeutet) kannten keine Schrift, weshalb wir über ihre Frühgeschichte relativ wenig wissen. Die enorme Gröβe erlangte das Inkareich durch spektakuläre Eroberungsfeldzüge und den Umstand, dass verfeindete Stämme sich nicht gemeinsam gegen die Inka verteidigten. So wuchs mit jeder Eroberung ihr Territorium und ihre Armee. Die unterworfenen Stämme wurden dazu gezwungen die Lebensweise ihrer neuen Herrscher zu übernehmen und durch Lehrer in der Anlage von Vorratshäusern, Bewässerungsgräben, Behausungen und einer verbesserten landwirtschaftlichen Produktion unterwiesen.

Ein riesiges Reich musste regiert werden und dafür nutzen die Inka ein perfekt ausgebautes Straβensystem, das sich von Ecuador bis Chile erstreckte und Inka-Siedlungen über Berge, Täler und Plateaus hinweg verband. Wenn der Wind panflöten-gleich an diesen alten Wegen entlangpfeift, möchte man fast meinen, dass man mit ein bisschen Phantasie einen alten Inka, bekleidet mit Sandalen, einem Lendenschurz aus Baumwolle und mit bunt gefärbten Wollfäden im Haar, an sich vorbei spazieren spürt.

Lasst uns diese alten Inkastraβen zusammen mit Pachacutec, einem fiktiven Inka-Krieger, beschreiten und eine Brücke von der präkolumbischen Zeit (der Zeit vor der so genannten Entdeckung Amerikas durch Christoph Columbus 1492) mit der Gegenwart schlagen. Mit Pachacutec an unserer Seite erfahren wir vieles über diese alte südamerikanische Hochkultur. Pachacutec ist bereits von Cusco, der Hauptstadt der Inka, über Arequipa ins heutige Chile gereist. Wir treffen ihn erstmals bei einem Aussichtspunkt nahe der Festung Pucará de Quitor und begleiten ihn dann über Santiago de Chile und Portillo bis nach Mendoza im heutigen Argentinien.

Referenzen und Links

Métraux, A. (2001): Reich der Inka. Stuttgart

Wood, T. (1996): Die Inkas. Erlangen

Dieser Beitrag wurde von Martin Mergili geringfügig überarbeitet und ergänzt.